Smart phones…dumb prices.

I just don’t understand the pricing on the phones that I want…it seems ridiculous.

Xperia Play Pantech Breakout DROID Incredible 2 HTC Trophy Thunderbolt
Price(*) 99.99 149.99 199.99 199.99 249.99
4G Ready No Yes No No Yes
Memory 8 GB 8 GB 16 GB 16 GB 8 GB
Camera 5 MP 5 MP 8 MP Rear/ 1.3 MP Front 5 MP 8 MP Rear/ 1.3 MP Front
Mobile Hotspot Yes Yes Yes No Yes

So this is a table of the things that seem to matter, at least as I understand it, from the list of tech specs off of the Verizon Wireless site. So to me, the price differences make utterly no sense. If you care about your phone’s camera…get a digital camera. You can get an 8 MP camera for 50 bucks. Granted that’s the cheapest, but still. I can see paying a little more for memory, but don’t most smart phones have microSD slots to upgrade the memory? Also cheaper than paying 100 bucks more. Now the ONLY thing I can see is the 4g. I would be willing to pay more for that…but I don’t know how much faster it really is…not to mention if it is more per month. If it’s not significantly faster…then what’s the point?

So, the front runner is definitely the Xperia Play at this point. Unless one of my more smart phone loving tech savvy readers gives me a reason to pick another one.

Well, as always, thanks for reading. Hope you enjoy this installment, and see you next time!

CG

Posted on October 16, 2011, in Ramblings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have the expedia lol

  2. The thing is that the $100-$250 price you pay for a phone is a small part of the total cost of ownership. If you are on the fence between two devices because of money, I say don’t be, it is a small difference over the long run.

    I suggest playing with the phones you are looking at. That way you can experience things that are harder to quantify, like the screen and the processor speed, first hand.

    • Yeah and actually at the moment the Thunderbolt is cheaper (only 149.99) so if it is still that price I will probably go for it. Seems like it’s loaded with a lot of cool features, it is just the most expensive…but for 100 cheaper it definitely catapults to the forefront.

      And although I get what you are saying, I’m not sure I can get a good idea of those things in just a few minutes playing with a demo device, ya know? Maybe once I have experienced the smart phone phenomena myself a bit. And actually I am thinking the Pantech for my Mom or…there was another one. Although I had the thought that if I don’t get the xperia play maybe we ought to get the same phone so I can help her when she wants to figure out how to do something. 😛

  3. Soooo… ok, I’m no Techie, but I am a phone crazy person. I have a huge crush on Verizon, and I am very sad that I left it for AT&T. That being said, if I had a CHOICE of any phone to pick, I’d go Thunderbolt, simply because it kicks serious tail. The Incredible 2 wouldn’t be a bad option because we don’t HAVE 4g in Shrevesburg yet. When Kevin and I visited Dallas with our new phones, I did not notice a change in speed. It wasn’t spectacular. I wanted a Thunderbolt back in the day, and I’ll tell ya, I have thoroughly enjoyed playing with my co worker’s phones. (It’s wasted on them though. Carol and Mel are in the mature set of crowd… however Mel’s children are teaching her how to use it)

Enter the Discussion

